1990 Instrument cluster doesn't always light up

Edsel-to-Reatta

I'm new to ROJ, Reatta newbie here, an admirer since they were new, and now finally a proud owner of a Select 60. One of my other classic cars is a 1958 Edsel, hence my screen name. The simplicity of 1950's cars has made ownership and DIY work fairly simple in comparison to the daunting complexity of cars of Reatta's vintage. I only considering buying a Reatta knowing this and other forums with expert knowledge and parts are available. Thanks in advance to Reatta owners and gurus for sharing your advice. I hope to enjoy many years of happy Reatta motoring!

My first challenge is now resolved, with stumbling performance problems fixed by converting the ignition system from Magnavox to Delco. Lesson learned: an old ICM from a donor car in a wrecking yard is an iffy proposition. The first Delco ICM I installed was from a 1998 Pick-a-Part donor, and was no better than the Magnavox it replaced. A brand new Delco D1977A from Rock Auto solved the problem. My Reatta runs great now.

Second challenge needs advice please. The instrument cluster lights up intermittently when the ignition key is switched on. When it lights up, it's perfect. Other times, it's dark. When turning the ignition key, if I hear a slight relay click from the passenger side of the instrument panel, the cluster will light up. If I don't hear that relay click, sure enough the cluster doesn't light up. If I turn the key off and try again, eventually I will hear that relay click and the cluster lights up. Sometimes multiple restarts are needed to finally get that relay click and cluster function. When it lights up, it's bright and perfect.