No Crank Issue

Steve Fowler

Recently acquired a 91 Reatta. Drove it home 100 miles with multiple stops with no problems. After arriving home, went to move it. Won't crank. I'm an experienced tech and have access to Mitchell On-Demand. Battery is okay, starter spins when jumped Bat to Solenoid. Have removed panels below steering column. Disconnected wires from PASS key part of ign switch and tested resistance with key in- matches reading on key and coincides with a #9 value. Checked all fuses in panel alongside drivers leg, all okay. Tried wiggling shifter and using Park and Neutral positions- no joy. Suspect problem is in VATS module or starter relay, which supposedly are just above the park brake assy, but have not been able to spot them. Any help would be appreciated.

I had an 89 that developed a similar condition out of the blue also and it turned out to be the plug at the neutral safety switch on the transaxle had become corroded and green. Cleanup and contact cleaner cured the problem and has not returned in 18 months.

• Like 1

8 hours ago, Steve Fowler said:

Suspect problem is in VATS module or starter relay,

Below is a diagram that shows the flow of power to make the starter run. You can use that to trace down the problem. The other diagram shows how you can bypass the starter interrupt relay as a test to see if the VATS is the problem. I would try what 2seater said first.

starter_circuit.jpg

starter_circuit_jumper.jpg

I'd probably short the power output on the starter interrupt relay. The red line seems to be without the VATS (theft deterrent).

Edited by Padgett