Half an Instrument Panel is better than none

Posti

I picked up a used instrument panel off eBay and installed it today.  The speedometer and fuel gauge work, as do the idiot lights across the bottom and the trip odometer.  However, the left side with the clock and odometer are still dark.  Is this likely to be an instrument panel issue or something with the controllers?  The CRT works fine and has everything up.

I think you probably have a another bad IPC. I'm no electronics expert but I can't think of anything else that would cause half the IPC to fail to light up.

I lucked out - the seller gave me a full refund with no questions and did not want the part back. I had sent a photo of it showing the left side backed out and described what i had done to test it, and that must have satisfied her. So while it is not a total fix, I can drive the car with all but the minor data functions showing. The face is nearly perfect. Turns out a local junkyard has a Reatta and the instrument cluster on hand, so I will be paying a visit this weekend.

Good to hear there are still some honest sellers on eBay. :)  I hope you find another good one that allows returns if needed.

Lucked out again, I think. Found an 89 IPC on eBay that looks clean and is supposed to work well, located less than 20 miles away for $80 BIN. The seller is bringing it to his workplace near my house tomorrow, so I save the $20 shipping. He also has other Reatta parts from his 1989 that he parted out a while back. Curious to see what he has. Also located a Reatta in a local salvage yard and plan to investigate that on Friday.

The first IPC from eBay looks good and provides all of the important functions. I'll do some electrical troubleshooting - should be a prime power input to the left side that is broken/interrupted. I can explore the original IPC that is totally dead and somewhat scarred up first.